everybody’s working for the weekend

20120408-230615.jpg

After I graduated from Holy Cross, I started working full time right off the bat at my summer internship from the year before. I’m grateful that I had at least a source of income besides my Kimball bonus so soon after graduation: however, I wish I had taken some time to catch my breath and enjoy being done.

I spent the summer working/saving money and applying for service positions. After completing many applications and enduring 4 interviews, I finally landed an AmeriCorps VISTA position at a youth development agency in Hartford. I only had a week between finishing my internship and VISTA Pre-Service Orientation.

Since then I’ve been working full time without any real time to take a break. With the end of my service term looming ever closer, I’m starting the job hunt once again. And I am completely scared about it. I worked hard in school and at my internship and at my VISTA placement, but I’m just afraid that those things won’t matter.

I went to a training for life after AmeriCorps next week that kick started me into the job search.. Let me tell you, re-starting the job hunt is stressful!

Much props to the Career Planning Department at Holy Cross for reviewing my resume for me so quickly! I didn’t realize how much my resume sucked until I talked to Career Planning. Now I’m tweaking it and making it look classy, and I feel so much better moving forward. I’d be crazy excited if I got a position so soon, but I’m trying to be more realistic about the job hunt this time. Submitting an application or getting an interview doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve got the job (I learned this the hard way last summer).

Anyway, so that’s what’s up with me on the post VISTA thang. Let’s hope it all works out!

20120408-230736.jpg

 

In other news, I finally got my wisdom teeth taken out yesterday at the ripe old age of 23. I was super nervous in the days before the surgery (thanks to my fellow VISTAs Jacqui and JoJo for listening to me complain about the wisdom teeth stuff even though I’m sure they were dying to smack me every time I mentioned it). Mostly, I’m afraid of needles, and I got intravenous sedation, so that was probably the worst part of it for me. I was partially  conscious during the procedure, but it was more cool than scary. I didn’t feel anything, but the doctor let me know when he was done extracting a tooth.

So far the pain has been pretty manageable, mostly because I’ve been taking the prescription painkillers the doctor recommended. I figure I’d rather take the painkillers and be a little nauseous than feel the pain.

That’s about it with me.  I’ll be back tomorrow or Sunday with some Instagrams (I know, I’m a little obsessed!)

Leave a Reply

