Work work

Grad school is a lot of work, yo. The new Britney is basically my theme song for the weekend.

The past month has been super busy for me with M&Ms: midterms (econ two weeks ago, stats tonight, finance on Monday) and memos. Memos are my program’s equivalent of papers–they’re basically aimed at teaching us how to write professionally. Let me just say that I miss academic writing sometimes!

I’ve been doing well in most of my classes grades-wise, and I feel confident about the exam I took tonight.  Let’s hope this trend keeps up for my finance midterm!

My grad assistantship also keeps me busy. I help coordinate events, like open houses and speaker series.  I’m also helping out with the MPA 40th Anniversary Gala and the search for a new faculty member.  I’m only there 15 hours a week, but I feel like I cram 40 hours of work into that 15 hours.

Finally, I made some life decisions this week! I decided to apply for a certificate in public finance and budgeting. I came in to the MPA program thinking of focusing in nonprofit management, but over the past few weeks I’ve come to realize that my employment outcomes will probably be better if I do public finance. UConn has the number 7 ranked public finance program in the country (in terms of MPA programs), and the public finance grads tend to do better job wise.

Even if I take this path, I can still work in the nonprofit world or in government, and I can still help people.  I’ll just be more marketable.  And I can always do the grad certificate in nonprofit management after I finish my MPA if I decide it’s something I need.

 

 

Leave a Reply

